Book Review: Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

In an effort to keep track of all the books I read and have some new ideas for blog posts, I’m going to start trying to write book reviews!  Especially now that I have the Book of the Month membership, I figure why not!!

In January, I selected two books and was more excited about the other one (to be reviewed soon!) but liked this book so much more!

51bjwf9tssl-_sy346_

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney – This was a slightly early release (I received on Jan 6 and it was released for everyone else Jan 16).  I was kind of excited about this fact.  There’s something about reading a book before it is released.  A little special feeling. Haha!

The premise of the book is an 84-year-old woman who is reminiscing about her past while celebrating New Year’s.  Her son is living in another state while she is in New York City.  She walks everywhere even though mass transit is an option.  She literally takes a walk down memory lane throughout the book.  At 84 in 1984-85, she lived through some of the exciting times in US history.

As a woman, reading about Lillian Boxfish’s career during a time when women did not play a large part in the workforce was extremely interesting.  I mean, she left the workforce when she had a baby because that was the “standard” of the time.  Can you imagine?  Living in 2017, that’s almost 100% unheard of.  Who knew!

She’s an ad executive with a quirky and entertaining sense of humor and the author’s ability to make you fall in love with and want to know more and more and more about Lillian is absolutely amazing.  I couldn’t resist continuing to read this book and it only took me about a week!  I would have rather been reading than watching tv or playing on Facebook.  It’s been a long time since a book has done that for me.

In general the one thing that I really didn’t like about the book is that it didn’t follow your normal “introduction, climax, resolution, lesson” type format.  I almost felt like when I finished the book I didn’t have any resolution or true ending.  I felt very unresolved!  I wasn’t sure what to think or feel.  It just ended.  I guess with Lillian getting home and having survived a night of walking in NYC and reminiscing her entire life?  Is it bad if I almost feel like her dying in her sleep when she got home would have felt like there was a final resolution?  But all-in-all, it was entertaining and well worth the read!

Leave a Reply

